Morgan County requires you to have a valid Georgia drivers license or ID card with a Morgan County address to process all transactions.
If you are moving to the county from out of county or out of state you must update your driver’s license before coming to our office.
If you moved within Morgan County you can change your address any one of the following ways:
Phone - Call us at 706-342-0464 during business hours with the tag number(s) and new address.
Email - Email any of the Tag and Tax Clerks listed on our contact page. Include the tag number, new address and attach a copy of the registered owner's Georgia driver's license or Georgia ID.
Online - Visit the Georgia DOR's Online Service Center and select 'Change Address.' You must include a copy of your valid Georgia driver's license or ID card.
In Person - Bring a valid Georgia driver's license or Georgia ID card to the Morgan County Tag Office.
Not receiving a renewal notice does not relieve the registered owner from the obligation to renew the vehicle’s registration by the due date. Penalties will not be waived because the owner did not receive a renewal notice. Contact us at 706-342-0464 or by email to any tag and tax clerk listed on the contact page for a copy of the renewal notice or to receive total amount due. To ensure timely processing and to avoid penalties, carefully read the renewal notice and the enclosed insert for instructions and additional information. If a renewal is submitted without all the required information, it will be returned to the owner and tax/tag penalties will be applied.
Credit cards accepted online are American Express, Discover, MasterCard and Visa. Note: The Georgia Department of Revenue charges a credit card convenience fee of 2.35% ($1 minimum fee) to use this service.
A tag cannot be renewed online if the vehicle:
Renewing by Mail
To ensure timely processing and to avoid penalties, carefully read the renewal notice for instructions and additional information. All renewal requirements must be met before the renewal can be processed. If a renewal is submitted without all the required information, it will be returned. Personal checks or money orders are accepted.
Mail renewal payments to:
Morgan County Tax Commissioner
P.O. Box 151
Madison, GA 30650
Payment methods include cash, personal checks, and money orders, MasterCard, Visa, Discover and American Express.
All card payments add a service fee, charged by Government Window, of 2.5% + $0.30 (for Visa, Mastercard, or Discover) or 3.0% (for American Express).
Insurance cards are not acceptable proof of insurance coverage. Your insurance company is required to electronically transmit proof of insurance directly to the Georgia Department of Revenue (DOR) database.
Acceptable Proof of Insurance
When the Georgia registration system does not indicate valid proof of insurance, the following are acceptable (faxed copies are not accepted):
We offer many veterans plates, use the link below to view the plates and necessary
Most plates require you to bring a copy of your DD-214.